Hampton was the original terminus of the D.L & W.
from Scranton and first passenger trains from Scranton ran to Hampton
and then over C.N.J. to Jersey City. After M. & E. acquired it,
it became a branch from Washington, but continued to be used for servicing
and changing engines until late 1899 when engines began running through
from Hoboken to Scranton. The ten stall roundhouse was then torn down
in 1900. Connection with Central Railroad of New Jersey. Westbound freight
of C.N.J. for D.L.& W. delivered here instead of taking over the
hill to Phillipsburg. Usually only four or five cars. Agent discontinued
1936-45. Passenger service from Washington discontinued September 18,
1926. C.N.J. passenger station used.
Line abandoned from Washington in 1958.
Delaware, Lackawanna & Western Railroad in the
Nineteenth Century, Vol. 3, Taber III