MP 66.5 (M. & E.)
Telegraph Call: G
New brick passenger station opened November 2, 1901.
Second track from Washington to Phillipsburg was taken up 1901. Brick
freight station with separate agent. Agent combined with passenger station
January 22, 1929. 60' turntable. No roundhouse. Washington was not a
terminal after merging of the M. & E. and D.L & W. Trains ran
to Phillipsburg as the terminal while eastbound freights ran to Port
Morris. Two interlocking towers. East end tower controlling Phillipsburg
branch and yard closed about 1942. Tower at west end of yard removed
before 1917, probably soon after New Jersey Cut-Off opened and all through
freights diverted away from Washington. Track scales removed prior to
1917. Branch to Hampton torn up 1958. Several manufacturers, coal and
building material dealers. The 1901 station replaced two adjacent stations,
at the crossover of the Phillipsburg line (upper station) and the Hampton
branch (lower station). Engines terminating at Washington ran to Hampton
engine house at night. Two coaling stations at Washington for refueling.
M. & E. division torn down 1902-03. Main Line Division dock at Port
Washington torn down 1904-12. Track from Washington to Delaware M.P.
79.3 abandoned April 21, 1970. Double track removed Washington to Manunka
Chunk in 1942; Washington to Netcong in 1946.
- Delaware, Lackawanna & Western Railroad in the
Nineteenth Century, Vol. 3, Taber III
| Hackettstown | Hampton
| Lake Hopatcong | Manunka
| Oxford Furnace | Phillipsburg
| Port Murray | Washington | Waterloo