MP 71.0 (M. & E.)
Telegraph Call: X
Wood station built in 1880s. Agent discontinued 1936-48.
Wood towers at each end of gauntlet track through 2996'
tunnel controlled by signals. After 1913 west tower used as watchman's
cabin until early 1940s. Track scales for iron mine ore shipments. Water
tank. 3/8 mile branch up steep hill to Alan Wood Steel Co. mine. Track
removed in early 1950s. Gauntlet track removed and replaced by spring
switches in November 1934.
About one mile west of station the Pohatcong R.R. owned
by Edison Portland
Cement Co., had 1.7 miles running south to quarry. D.L. & W.
operated the Pohatcong R.R. --built after 1908 and operated until early
1941. Prior to tunnel completion, a temporary track ran over the hill.
On January 5, 1992, the stone plaque above the Oxford
tunnel was rescued and is now on display at Shippen Manor.
- Delaware, Lackawanna & Western Railroad in the
Nineteenth Century, Vol. 3, Taber III
- The Star Ledger
| Hackettstown | Hampton
| Lake Hopatcong | Manunka
| Oxford Furnace | Phillipsburg | Port
Murray | Washington | Waterloo